Yrsa Sigurdardóttir

Yrsa Sigurdardóttir (b. 1963) is the internationally bestselling Icelandic crime author of the award-winning Thóra Gudmundsdóttir series and several stand-alone thrillers. Sigurdardóttir made her crime fiction debut in 2005 with Last Rituals, which has been translated into more than 30 languages. Universally hailed as one of the finest crime writers of our time, Yrsa Sigurdardóttir’s new series about Freyja & Huldar shows a master storyteller at the top of her game.

“I can see why so many people are enthusiastic about Yrsa’s work. It’s very engaging, fresh and exciting.”
–James Patterson

“Yrsa is one of the most exciting new voices in the crime thriller world.”
–Peter James


Freyja & Huldar

Thóra Gudmundsdóttir


Related news

‘Why Did You Lie’ chosen as Sunday Times’ Crime Book of the Month

Yrsa Sigurdardóttir’s stand-alone thriller Why Did You Lie has been selected by The Sunday Times as their Crime Book of the Month. The British newspaper calls the novel “a tour de force,” applauding Sigurdardóttir for her brilliant handling of the different plot strands and how she brings them together in “an unforgettable climax.”

Erik Axl Sund and Yrsa Sigurdardóttir shortlisted for ‘The Mörda Award’

Erik Axl Sund’s The Crow Girl and Yrsa Sigurdardóttir’s The Undesired have both been shortlisted for The Mörda Award for ‘Captivating Crime in Translation’. The winning novel will be announced on July 22nd at Harrogate. To vote for your favorite, click the “Read more” button below.

Read more

Yrsa Sigurdardottir presented with the Petrona Award 2015

Yrsa Sigurdardottir is the winner of the Petrona Award 2015 for 'Best Scandinavian Crime Novel of the Year' for her novel The Silence of the Sea, translated by Victoria Cribb and published by Hodder and Stoughton.

Read more

The 2015 Petrona Award

Falling Freely, as if in a Dream by Leif GW Persson and The Silence of the Sea by Yrsa Sigurdardóttir are both shortlisted for the Petrona Award 2015 for ‘Best Scandinavian Crime Novel of the Year’. The winner will be announced in May 2015.

Read more