Photo: Anders Thessing Photo: Anders Thessing

Hans Rosenfeldt

Hans Rosenfeldt (b. 1964) is the creator of the incredibly successful TV-series The Bridge and Marcella as well as the co-author of the No. 1 internationally bestselling Sebastian Bergman series, together with Michael Hjorth.

Cry Wolf is Rosenfeldt’s first novel under his own name and the beginning of a series – the Haparanda series – that promises to be yet another milestone in Scandinavian crime fiction.


Shortlisted for the Storytel Awards (Best Suspense) Sweden – Vargasommar Cry Wolf 2020
Shortlisted for the Adlibris Awards (Best Crime Fiction) Sweden – Vargasommar Cry Wolf 2020
Close award list



Related news

Mike Marsland/WireImage Photo: Mike Marsland/WireImage

‘Cry Wolf’ to become TV series

Cry Wolf (Vargasommar), the acclaimed debut novel of Hans Rosenfeldt, will now be made into a TV series by writer Oskar Söderlund and director Jesper Ganslandt, the duo behind the mega hit series Snabba Cash.

Cry Wolf will star British musician-turned-actor Eliot Sumner (No Time to Die), Eva Melander (Border) and Henrik Dorsin (Triangle of Sadness).

Melander is set play Hannah Wester, a 54-year-old police officer whose quiet life in Haparanda gets turned upside down after a wolf is found dead. What appeared to be an ordinary investigation instead turns into a sprawling criminal case with connections to a bloody drug deal in Finland, sparking a series of brutal events.

Cry Wolf will start filming in in Haparanda, near the border of Finland, in July.

Hans Rosenfeldt’s ‘Cry Wolf’ on the Publishers Weekly bestseller list

Cry Wolf, Hans Rosenfeldt’s first novel under his own name and the first installment in the Haparanda series, debuts on US trade magazine Publishers Weekly’s bestseller list this week at No. 13.

‘A House to Die For’ and ‘When Crying Wolf’ on the Swedish bestseller lists

The just published first installment in Anders de la Motte & Måns Nilsson’s new whodunnit series, A House to Die For, enters the official Swedish bestseller lists this week at No. 4 in e-book and No. 5 in hardcover. Hans Rosenfeldt’s When Crying Wolf grabs the No. 3 spot on the paperback list.

More than 100.000 copies sold of ‘When Crying Wolf’ in Sweden

It’s now official that Hans Rosenfeldt’s When Crying Wolf has sold more than 100.000 copies in Sweden alone. For this achievement, Hans received the “Norstedtaren” – a trophy from his publishing house Norstedts.

The Storytel Awards 2020

The nominees for 2020’s Storytel Awards have been announced. Previously known as the Grand Audiobook Prize, the Storytel Awards have been handed out to the best audio books in Sweden since 2007. The awards are split into five categories: Suspense, Fiction, Non-fiction, YA, and Children’s books.

Among the nominees for the Suspense award are: Kristina Ohlsson’s Storm Watch, Anders Roslund’s Sweet Dreams, Stina Jackson’s The Last Snow, Lars Kepler’s The Mirror Man, and Hans Rosenfeldt’s When Crying Wolf.

Simona Arhnstedt’s Hearts on the Line meanwhile features on the list of Fiction nominees, and Björn Natthiko Lindeblad’s I May Be Wrong on the Non-fiction list.

David Sundin’s audiobook adaptation of his bestselling debut, The Book That Did Not Want To Be Read, is in the running for the Children’s books’ award. In its audio form, the book is called The Audiobook That Did Not Want To End.

Fans will be able to vote for their favorites till February 28, after which a jury will pick a winner among the three candidates with the most votes in each category.

To cast your vote, click “Read more” below.

Read more

‘When Crying Wolf’ to be made into a TV4 and C More series

TV4 and C More have acquired the rights to develop Hans Rosenfeldt’s hit novel, When Crying Wolf, for television. After such international successes as The Bridge and Marcella, Rosenfeldt’s new series of novels thus returns to Sweden, venturing into the deep forests of Haparanda.

Piodor Gustafsson, Director of Scripted Content at TV4 and C More, says:

“It will be an honor to work on Hans’ new series. He is one of our times’ greatest suspense writers. Hans has time and again proven that he can create worlds and characters that move people. It feels amazing to have gotten to bring his latest production home to Sweden and Scandinavia following recent years’ international successes.”

TV4 is Sweden’s leading independent channel and together with C More, one of the Nordic countries’ biggest and growing entertainment platforms, it has high quality drama as one of its cornerstones.

The weekly Swedish bestseller lists

The bestseller lists for the first week of December see Lars Kepler’s The Mirror Man claim the No.1 spots on the audio and e-book lists, and the No. 2 one on the hardcover list. The No. 5 placement goes to Hans Rosenfeldt’s When Crying Wolf.

The non-fiction list has the ever popular Björn Natthiko Lindeblad appear at No. 2 with his I May Be Wrong. He is also No. 2 in audio, where he’s joined by Ulf Lundell and Weekdays 3 at No. 4.

New on the paperback list is Stina Jackson, whose just published softcover of The Last Snow is No. 2.

The Adlibris Awards 2020

The nominees for 2020’s Adlibris Awards have been announced. Adlibris is the leading book retailer in the Nordics and last year, the Adlibris Award was founded to celebrate the site’s most popular titles. 10 titles in 9 different categories are nominated by a jury of Adlibris employees, and all titles must have been published during 2020.

A new category added this year is the ‘Debutant’ one, in which Klas Ekman’s recently published Capable People can be found.

Amongst the nominated titles in the ‘Crime Fiction’ category are Stina Jackson’s The Last Snow, Hans Rosenfeldt’s When Crying Wolf, Jo Nesbø’s  The Kingdom and Lars Kepler’s The Mirror Man.

Fans have until December 8 to cast their votes in each respective category. The winners will be announced on January 25, 2021.

Click the “Read more” button below to cast your vote.

Read more

The October bestseller list in Sweden

Lars Kepler’s latest title about Joona Linna, The Mirror Man, comes in first in three categories on the official Swedish bestseller lists for October. It is No. 1 in hardcover, audio, and e-books. Hans Rosenfeldt follows just behind, placing at No. 2 in hardcover and audio with When Crying Wolf. Simona Ahrnstedt’s ever popular Opposites Attract series makes its mark on the e-book list, where the latest installment – Hearts on the Line – comes in at No. 3.

The weekly Swedish bestseller lists

Hans Rosenfeldt’s When Crying Wolf is No. 2 in hardcover on the latest Swedish bestseller list, claiming the No. 4 spot on the audio list as well. Simona Ahrnstedt debuts on the lists with her just published Hearts on the Line, which is No. 2 in e-book and No. 4 in hardcover. Finally, Niklas Natt och Dag’s 1794 comes in at No. 5 in paperback.

The weekly Swedish bestseller lists

Hans Rosenfeldt’s When Crying Wolf is once again No. 1 on the official bestseller list for hardcovers in Sweden. The book also claims the No. 2 spot on the audio list. Jo Nesbø is another No. 1 bestseller on the lists: his The Kingdom comes in first in e-book, additionally landing the No. 3 spot in hardcover and No. 4 one in audio. Niklas Natt och Dag grabs the last placement in this week’s roundup, coming in at No. 5 in paperback with 1794.

Show more stories