Gravrøvergåten The Grave Robbing Mystery


Something is happening under the cover of darkness in Schooner Cove. Cecilia, Leo and Une discover that someone has been digging up old tombs in the town graveyard, and it isn’t long till they find out that the church is hiding yet more secrets than this. The ghost of an old naval chaplain is said to roam its grounds, and more than sixty years ago another priest is believed to have taken a very special secret with him to the grave: the secret of the gold left behind by the Germans.

Meanwhile, the police are investigating Cecilia’s mother’s missing person’s case as if it were a murder, and the answer to what happened last summer when she disappeared is finally revealed. At the same time new, mysterious happenings lead the CLUE gang to shipwrecked courier vessels, gold and pearls, and the answer as to how the guesthouse The Pearl first got its name.

The philosophical backdrop of the fourth book in the CLUE series, The Grave Robbing Mystery, is Søren Kierkegaard’s views on responsibility, liberty, and the freedom of choice. The CLUE series’ name comes from the first letter in each protagonist’s name: Cecilia, Leo, Une, and Une’s dog Egon. In each of the series’ books a new mystery and a new ethical question is introduced along with the thoughts of one of the world’s most well-known philosophers. The CLUE books are best selling crime fiction for younger readers aged 9-12.

Photo: Anton Soggiu Jørn Lier Horst
  • Children’s suspense
Reading material

Norwegian edition

Rights sold

Estonia, Varrak

Finland, Otava

France, Rageot

Germany, Oetinger

Greece, Dioptra

Norway, Kagge

Sweden, Bonnier Carlsen

More From Jørn Lier Horst

William Wisting

Wisting: The Prequel