Kun kyyhkyset katosivat

Kun kyyhkyset katosivat When the Doves Disappeared

The Estonian Quartet #3

When the Doves Disappeared is a story of occupation, resistance, and collaboration in Estonia during and after World War II. The novel follows the experiences of three characters: Roland, a principled independence fighter; his cousin Edgar, who will do almost anything to hide his secrets and maintain his connection to those in power; and Edgar’s wife Juudit, who is buffeted in turns by her love for a German officer, her fear of returning to her unhappy, unconsummated marriage, and her bond with the idealistic Roland.

When The Doves Disappeared is the third novel in The Estonian Quartet – a series depicting the division and annexation of Europe, and the consequences that reverberate from the 30s well into to the present.

Photo: Toni Härkönen Sofi Oksanen
  • Literary
Reading material

Finnish edition

English edition

More From Sofi Oksanen

The Estonian Quartet