Andreas Kock
Andreas Kock
Photo: Andreas Kock Photo: Andreas Kock


Johan Widerberg

Johan Widerberg is a Swedish actor and screenwriter. He started his acting career at a young age, starring in one of his father’s (Bo Widerberg) films Man on the Roof (1976). During his career Widerberg has been nominated for ‘Best Actor’ at The Guldbagge Awards three times – for Love Lessons (1996), Under the Sun (1999), Happy End (2012) – and awarded with the Prize for ‘Best Actor’ at The Rouen Nordic Film Festival in 1996.

His work also includes writing scripts for film and television alongside the well-known Swedish screenwriter Sara Heldt. Their co-written scripts for the popular TV series Death of a Pilgrim (2013) and Another Time, Another Life (2014), both based on the best-selling and award-winning novels by Leif GW Persson. Death of a Pilgrim and Another Time, Another Life were nominated for the prestigious Prix Europa in 2014 and 2015 respectively.


Kristallen Awards Nominee (Best Television Drama) Sweden – En pilgrims död Death of a Pilgrim 2013
Close award list



Related news

‘The Sandhamn Murders’ renewed for season 8

C More and TV4 have ordered an eighth season of The Sandhamn Murders, with filming already underway. The series is one of TV4’s most successful crime dramas, and season 7 recently premiered on C More with outstanding viewer ratings.

As in season 7, the series is based on the characters of Viveca Sten’s crime novels, but the plots of the original books and the TV adaption diverge. Sara Heldt and Johan Widerberg are the writers for season 8, while Mattias Ohlsson and Niklas Ohlson direct. Alexandra Rapaport will reprise her lead role as Nora Linde.

There is currently no set release date for season eight.

Trailer premiere of Colin Nutley’s new series ‘Saknad’

Colin Nutley’s new TV series Saknad has released its first trailer on broadcaster C More. The series, which centers on the mystery of a girl gone missing in a Swedish small town, stars the talented Johan Widerberg among others.

Saknad will premiere on C More on January 1st, 2017.

‘Another Time, Another Life’ nominated for a Prix Europa 2015

The TV series Another Time, Another Life (2014), written by Sara Heldt and Johan Widerberg, has been nominated at the Prix Europa 2015 in the category ‘TV Fiction’. The series is based on the second installment in Leif GW Persson’s Story of a Crime trilogy.

Death of a Pilgrim (2013), the first part of the popular series, was also nominated for a prestigious Prix Europa in 2014. This too was written by Heldt and Widerberg, and was based on the best-selling novels by Leif GW Persson.

The award ceremony of this year’s Prix Europa will take place 23 October in Berlin, Germany.

Read more