Mickey Thörnblad
Photo: Mickey ThörnbladPhoto: Mickey Thörnblad

Johan Theorin

Johan Theorin (b. 1963) began his literary career as a journalist and short-story writer. Theorin’s acclaimed Öland Quartet, a series of four suspense novels set on the Baltic island of Öland, won him not only the admiration of international readers and critics but a multitude of prestigious awards, including the CWA International Dagger and the Glass Key. Considered one of the most talented authors of crime and mystery fiction in Scandinavia, Johan Theorin is a master of atmosphere and darkness. The Battle for Salajak, the first installment in an epic historical fantasy series called The Jarmaland Chronicles, marks his debut in the genre of children’s fiction.

“If you like Stieg Larsson, try a much better Swedish writer”
-The Observer (UK)


The Jarmaland Chronicles

Öland Quartet


Related news

‘The Hunt for the Hwitters’ published in Sweden

The Hunt for the Hwitters is the second installment in Johan Theorin’s The Jarmaland Chronicles and a breathless continuation of the epic historical fantasy that began in The Battle for Salajak.

The battle for Salajak is over, but not the fight against the hwitters. Many of the ancient race have fled their old home in the mountain for the underworld. The warrior Ristin and the hwitter prince Dhor are slowly making their way deep into the abyss called Jarmaland. Chasing them is a myriad of soldiers, knights and fairies led by Niklis and Jöran Eck. Both sides must use all their might and skill in this unknown world where ice winds blow and evil creatures lurk in the shadows…

The Storytel Awards 2018

The nominees for 2018’s Storytel Awards (formerly known as the Grand Audiobook Prize) have been announced. The Swedish awards will as always be handed out in four categories: Fiction, Suspense, Young Adult, and Children’s.

Among those competing for the Fiction award are Niklas Natt och Dag with The Wolf and the Watchman, and Jonas Gardell with In Memory of an Unconditional Love.

The Suspense category’s shortlist features Lars Kepler for Lazarus, Stina Jackson with The Silver Road, and Anders Roslund with Three Hours.

Lastly, in the Children’s category, is Johan Theorin and The Battle for Salajak.

To vote for your favorite, click “Read more” below. The voting will close on January 20th.

Read more

New title: ‘The Battle for Salajak’

In the far north of Scandinavia, deep beneath Mount Salajak, the Midgard Serpent sleeps in its great cave. Above it, the ancient race of hwitters stir in their castle, awakening from a long winter slumber. Ristin, a member of the winged elite force called mare hwitters, flies over Salajak’s icy top to welcome home the warriors returning from the human world carrying meat… fresh meat.

As the enemy wakes in the north, three young brothers plan their escape from their farm in southern Sweden. Their goal is to join the army of humans and fairies marching to stop the hwitters and their atrocities. The second oldest of the three Eck brothers, Niklis, wants to be a knave, and the oldest, Samuel, dreams of becoming a knight. The youngest brother Jöran would rather that they turned back home before Death comes for them all.

Lovisa Georgsdotter is the young daughter of the Lord of Frösön, the one who has called the army. Lovisa has found a hidden weapon in the lake Storsjön just outside the island. A lindwyrm is swimming in its depths, long as a meandering rapid, and it comes to her call as Lovisa blows her birch horn.

The army marching northwards becomes the focal point around which destinies meet and intertwine only to be pulled down into the bottomless abyss beyond Salajak known as Jarmaland. In its icy and dark depths, the underworld’s goddess Hel rules supreme, and a secret as old as time waits for the adventurer brave enough to discover it.

Johan Theorin’s The Jarmaland Chronicles is an irresistible invitation to experience Scandinavia in the fourteenth century, a time when the perils of war, court intrigues, and the plague were as tangible as the danger of bumping into trolls, fairies, wravers and lindwyrms. A thrilling fantasy adventure series with an unbeatable historical edge, The Jarmaland Chronicles begins with the first installment, The Battle for Salajak.

Leif GW Persson, Roslund & Thunberg and Johan Theorin nominated for the CWA International Dagger

Leif GW Persson, Roslund & Thunberg and Johan Theorin have all been nominated for the CWA International Dagger 2016. The novels nominated for the prestigious award are The Sword of Justice by Leif GW Persson, The Father by Roslund & Thunberg (written under the pen name Anton Svensson), and The Voices Beyond by Johan Theorin.

Photo: Mickey Thörnblad

Johan Theorin awarded The Finnish Academy of Crime Writers’ Special Commendation

Johan Theorin, author of the award-winning Öland Quartet, has been awarded The Finnish Academy of Crime Writers’ Special Commendation for ‘Excellence in Foreign Crime Writing’ 2016. An excerpt from the jury’s motivation reads:

“As a narrator Theorin is both powerful and full of surprises, drawing on elements from folklore and adding a touch of mystique to them. The reader is made to feel the magic of Öland, while at the same time being invited to share in the secrets that the seasonal tourists are unaware of. /.../ Psychological depiction is one of Theorin’s strengths. The Öland Quartet’s characters are unique and complex, and yet in most cases they still remain just ordinary people. Retired caption Gerlof Davidsson who features in all novels is advanced in years and physically weak, but still plays a central role when in the investigations. Even the people behind the misdeeds can be understood as their motives are revealed along as the story progresses.”

New Author – Johan Theorin

Johan Theorin (b. 1963) began his literary career as a journalist and short-story writer, but has since gone on to receive international recognition as a writer of suspense novels. He is now considered to be one of the most talented authors of crime and mystery fiction in Scandinavia.